09/26 Sparkling City II

TQBA Oval Blue Backgroundcorpus-christi-flag-texas-316616

Registered Teams (12-13)

  • Carroll (1)
  • Flour Bluff (3)
  • John Paul II (1)
  • Juan Diego Academy (1)
  • London (1)
  • Port Aransas (2)
  • Ray (?)
  • Richard King (1)
  • Sinton (1)
  • Victoria East (1)


The second TQBA Sparkling City Challenge will take place on September 26, 2015 at Flour Bluff High School (2505 Waldron Rd, Corpus Christi 78418). This event is open to all high school teams from south Texas, specifically schools located in the Corpus, Brownsville, and Laredo areas. We are also studying the viability of a middle-school event running concurrently with this tournament.

Quiz Bowl is an academics-based game in which two teams of four students compete to answer questions about math, science, history, literature, religion, and arts. Students buzz in to answer tossup questions and correct tossup responses are rewarded with an opportunity to answer 3 bonus questions that cannot be stolen by the opposing team. The team with the most points after 20 tossup-bonus pairs is the winner.

For schools which have not played a TQBA event in the past three years, there is no entry fee for that school’s first team. Additional teams as well as returning teams will be charged based on the below schedule:

Base fee for regular-season middle-school tournaments: $120
Discount for supplying a working buzzer: $15 per buzzer used
Minimum per-team fee for MS: $90

Base fee for regular-season high-school tournaments: $140
Discount for supplying a working buzzer: $15 per buzzer used
Minimum per-team fee for HS: $110

Registration is open and can be done via our Event Registration form or by email to sfontenot@texasquizbowl.org. Pizza for lunch can be pre-ordered at the tournament site the morning of the event for $10 per one-topping large.

Check-in for the event will begin at 8 a.m. on tournament morning. An opening meeting will start at approximately 8:45. Each team in the contest will play 6 preliminary matches. Following preliminary rounds, teams will be seeded by win-loss record into a single elimination playoff bracket. Plaques will be awards to the top 8 teams. This event can accommodate a maximum of 24 teams.

This tournament will use questions from an NAQT introductory invitational packet set. A sample packet is available!

Staff: Fontenot, Patison, Ewbank, Farmer, Hawkins.
TD: Lacamu.
Z: TQBA 4, FB 1.

Leave a Reply