04/30 HS State Championship XVII

TQBA Oval Blue Background

Registered Championship Division schools (10):

  • Clark
  • DeBakey
  • LASA
  • Reagan
  • St. John’s
  • St. Mark’s
  • St. Stephen’s
  • St. Thomas
  • Taylor
  • Village

Registered JV Division schools (10):

  • Brandeis
  • DeBakey
  • Hyde Park
  • LASA
  • Reagan
  • St. Dominic Savio
  • St. Thomas
  • Shepton
  • Strake Jesuit
  • Village

The 17th annual Texas Quiz Bowl Championship will be contested at Tom Clark High School in Northside ISD (5150 DeZavala, San Antonio 78249). This event will feature a Championship Division and a Junior Varsity division. This event will use questions from the 2015 NAQT Sectionals Division II. A Sample of question from this level is available at this link.

The hotel for this event is the La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Fiesta Texas.

For further information, please contact TQBA Director Chris Romero (cromero-at-texasquizbowl.org). Registration for the state tournament, which includes lunch for 5, is $200 per team. Additional lunches are $10 each.

Championship Division Qualification
Teams may qualify for the championship event either winning one of TQBA’s regular-season events or qualifying as a wildcard via victory points earned at TQBA regular-season events. It is open to only one team per qualifying school barring extraordinary circumstances.

Junior Varsity Qualification
Junior Varsity is reserved for teams comprised exclusively of freshmen and sophomores. No student may compete in both Divisions. It is open to only one team per school.

Check-in for the event will begin at 8 a.m. on tournament morning. An opening meeting will start at approximately 8:45. Information on tournament format will be available in the coming weeks.

Staff: Fontenot, Romero, Ugolini, Farmer, Patison, Fritz, Ewbank, Kylberg, Ready, Durgin
TD: Lacamu. Hawkins
Z (8): TQBA SA 3, TQBA 4, Brandeis 1