03/05 Patriot Games

patriotresizedfornewsite_0TQBA Oval Blue Background

Registered middle schools (10):

  • BASIS SA NC (1)
  • Fulmore (3)
  • Garcia (2)
  • Kealing (2)
  • Rawlinson (2)

On March 5, 2016, Texas Quiz Bowl will host its third event at Ed Rawlinson Middle School in Northside ISD (14100 Vance Jackson, San Antonio 78249). This event is open to middle school teams from Central and South Texas, including the Austin and San Antonio metropolitan areas.

Quiz Bowl is an academics-based game in which two teams of four students compete to answer questions about math, science, history, literature, religion, and arts. Students buzz in to answer tossup questions and correct tossup responses are rewarded with an opportunity to answer 3 bonus questions that cannot be stolen by the opposing team. The team with the most points after 20 tossup-bonus pairs is the winner.

Base fee for regular-season middle-school tournaments: $120
Discount for supplying a working buzzer: $15 per buzzer used
Discount per team for schools attending MSNCT last year: $10
Minimum per-team fee for MS: $90

For schools which have not played a TQBA event in the past three years, there is no entry fee for that school’s first team. Registration is open and can be done via our Event Registration form or by email to sfontenot@texasquizbowl.org. Pizza for lunch can be pre-ordered at the tournament site the morning of the event for $10 per one-topping large.

Check-in for the event will begin at 8 a.m. on tournament morning. An opening meeting will start at approximately 8:45. Each team in the contest will play 6 preliminary matches. Following preliminary rounds, teams will be seeded by win-loss record into a single elimination playoff bracket.

The middle school tournament will use NAQT set MS-18. A sample middle school question set is available here.

Every school that attends this event is eligible to participate in the seventh annual Texas Quiz Bowl Middle Grades Championships that will be contested on April 16, 2016.

Staff: Fontenot, Hawkins, Lin, Baize (AM), McNierney, Rao, Ranjan.
Z: TQBA 4.