01/09 Mustang Rally

Registered high schools (26):

  • *Awty (2)
  • *Cinco Ranch (1)
  • *Clements (2)
  • *Cy-Fair (2)
  • *Debakey (1)
  • *Logos (1)
  • *Mayde Creek (1)
  • *St. John’s (2)
  • *St. Mark’s (3)
  • *St. Thomas (2)
  • *Seven Lakes (3)
  • *Strake Jesuit (2)
  • *Taylor (1)
  • *Village (3)


TQBA’s 2016 Mustang Rally will take place on January 9, 2016 at Taylor High School (20700 Kingsland Blvd, 77450) in Katy. This event is open to high school teams and will feature a single division.

Quiz Bowl is an academics-based game in which two teams of four students compete to answer questions about math, science, history, literature, religion, and arts. Students buzz in to answer tossup questions and correct tossup responses are rewarded with an opportunity to answer 3 bonus questions that cannot be stolen by the opposing team. The team with the most points after 20 tossup-bonus pairs is the winner

For schools which have not played a TQBA event in the past three years, there is no entry fee for that school’s first team. Registration is open and can be done via our Event Registration form or by email to cromero@texasquizbowl.org. Pizza for lunch can be pre-ordered at the tournament site the morning of the event for $12 per one-topping large.

Check-in for the event will begin at 8 a.m. on tournament morning. An opening meeting will start at approximately 8:45. Each team in the contest will play 6 preliminary matches. Following preliminary rounds, teams will be seeded by win-loss record into a single elimination playoff bracket.

The high school tournament will use NAQT set IS-149-A; A sample IS-A packet is available.  The base fee for regular-season TQBA high-school tournaments is $140 with a $15 discount available for proving a fully function buzzer system that is used at the tournament.

We expect the top eight high school teams from this event to qualify for the 2016 NAQT High School National Championship Tournament to be held in Dallas the weekend of May 28, 2016. School that attend this event will earn points towards attending the 17th Annual Texas Quiz Bowl Championship to be held on April 23, 2016.

Staff: Hanks, Rduch, Chatterjee, Dindoruk, Aileen, Tory, Golden, Carlos
TD: Romero
Check: Agnes, Cinco, iSchool