02/01 Bexar Bowl


Varsity teams (23)

  • Brandeis (2)
  • Champion (2)
  • Clark (3)
  • Gregory-Portland (1)
  • Harmony North Austin (1)
  • Jay (1)
  • Johnson (2)
  • Keystone (1)
  • MacArthur (1)
  • Reagan (4)
  • St. Stephen’s (1)
  • Temple (1)
  • TMI (2)
  • Warren (1)

Middle School teams (14)

  • Briscoe (2)
  • Bush (1)
  • Garcia (2)
  • Lopez (2)
  • Rawlinson (5)
  • St. Theresa (2)

Texas Quiz Bowl Alliance invites you to compete in the third annual Bexar Bowl, to be held at Northside ISD’s Clark High School in San Antonio. This tournament will consist of a varsity division and a middle school division. Registration will be $100 per team; single teams from unique schools will be given priority of multiple teams for single schools.

The tournament will be held February 1, 2014, at Clark High School, 5150 De Zavala Rd, San Antonio, TX 78249. The tournament is being organized and directed by Texas Quiz Bowl assistant director Stephen Fontenot. Schools wishing to register for the event should email their school name, faculty sponsor, team member names and grades (as soon as possible, but not necessary for registration), and contact information to Stephen at sfontenot@texasquizbowl.org. The fields for both the varsity and middle school events may be capped, so please register early.

Quiz Bowl is a academics-based game in which two teams of four students compete to answer questions about math, science, history, literature, religion, and arts. Students buzz in to answer tossup questions and correct tossup responses are rewarded with an opportunity to answer 3 bonus questions that cannot be stolen by the opposing team. The team with the most points after 20 tossup-bonus pairs is the winner.

Registration will open at 8 a.m. We will have a brief meeting at 8:45 and start our first matches around 9 a.m.

Each team will play at least 6 preliminary round matches. The tournament will conclude with a single-elimination phase to determine a champion.

At this event, schools earn points towards qualifying to participate in the 2014 Texas Quiz Bowl State Championship. The winning team at this tournament will qualify for the 15th annual TQBA State Championship. The top 4 teams will qualify to attend the High School National Championship Tournament in Chicago.

Readers (13): Romero, Ugolini, Pargeter, Chapman, Chupin, Gabos, Langas, Davidson, Cai, Sonnier, Franka, Bush, (Robinson, Weisenburger).
Stats: Fontenot, Ewbank
Scorekeeping: APO 8; Clark 4
Z: TQBA SA 6, TQBA 5, St. Theresa 2, Reagan 1, Clark 1, Jay 1.

Leave a Reply