Tom Brenner is a Postdoctoral Researcher at Texas A&M University.  He graduated in 2011 with a PhD in Aerospace Engineering from A&M where he was a member of the A&M Quiz Bowl team.  Tom played his high school quiz bowl at Ovid-Elsie High School in Elsie, Michigan, where he was twice named to the Mid-Michigan Conference First Team and made 10 appearances on QuizBusters.  He is a 2005 graduate of the University of Michigan.

Chris Franka is an Associate Clinical Professor in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology at the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio. He was a graduate of the first four-year class at the Science Academy of Austin (now the Liberal Arts & Science Academy of Austin). Unfortunately, he can claim no credit for their current success at the national level of Quiz Bowl competition.

Henry Gorman is a 2013 mathematics graduate of Rice University. Henry is a 2009 graduate the Charter School of Wilmington, Delaware. As a high school senior, Henry’s quiz bowl team won both NAQT’s HSNCT and PACE’s NSC. Currently Henry is in graduate school at Vanderbilt University.

Susan Mitchell Losavio is a 1999 graduate of Memorial High School (Houston) and earned her Ph.D. in Chemical engineering at Texas A&M University in 2007. Susan currently works as an engineer for Exxon-Mobil. She was a member of Texas A&M’s 2006 ACF National Championship winning team and the following year was a Jeopardy Champion.

Blakeley McCracken is an entrepreneur in Austin and a graduate of Klein High School. Before getting an M.B.A. from the University of Texas at Austin, he worked as a flight controller for the International Space Station in NASA MissionControl. He is a graduate of Texas A&M University where he played quiz bowl and majored in Electrical Engineering.

Chris Sewell is a 1998 graduate of Franklin High School (El Paso), a 2002 graduated of Texas A&M, and earned his Ph.D. from Stanford in 2007. While at A&M, Chris began to develop Sewell Quiz Bowl Statistics, the nation’s preeminent quiz bowl statistics program. Due to his work on SQBS Chris was awarded ACF’s Carper Award and PACE’s Benjamin Cooper Award in 2008.

Zach Yeung is a biochemistry and political science graduate from Rice University. He is currently in medical school at Baylor in Houston. He is a 2008 graduate of St. John’s School.

Leave a Reply